ASC Competition Winners

Twenty-five Myers Lawson School of Construction students recently competed at the 2017 ASC Student Competition in Peachtree City, GA.  These students were accompanied and supported by Bob Muir, Philip Agee, Rachelle Johnson and Lora Howard.

During the competition, students were given industry problems which they were tasked with solving.  They had one day to solve this problem, turn in deliverables, and put together a presentation that would be given to the problem sponsor on the second day of the competition. Their solutions contained several components including estimate, schedule and construction means, and methods.

Virginia Tech’s teams included Concrete, Commercial, Heavy Civil, and Design Build.

The Concrete Team placed second and also was awarded best presentation.  The team members included Joe Keffler, Colin Miller, Allie Vogrig, Tim Reynolds, Eric Matteson and Daniel Whitley.  Their problem was sponsored by Baker Concrete.

The Commercial Team members were Annie Skorulski, Jade McNair, Brandon Rabinowitz, Stevie Keesling, Bryan Billings, and Wil Arementrout.  Their problem was sponsored by Kiewit.

The Heavy Civil Team members were Isaiah Johnson, Alberto Duran, Mike Walker, Don Riblet, Matt O’Neill, and Jeremy Smith.  Their problem was sponsored by Holder.

The Design Build Team members were Connor Rogers, Joe O’Neal, Eric Heinemann, Laura Gurrister, Michelle Le, and Marquis Reynolds.  Their problem was sponsored by McCarthy.

Tyler Kren competed on a shadow team with students from other schools such as Auburn, Clemson, Mississippi State and University of Florida. The shadow team completed the Heavy Civil project statement, and Tyler was a member of the winning shadow team.