Research and Outreach Program Highlights

Sydney Buck - CEM Oustanding Senior

Sydney chose CEM because it allowed her to earn a technical engineering degree while gaining management experience. She loves how the construction industry has many unique job opportunities, on-site and in the office, and that she can work anywhere in the world. 

Sydney has accepted a full-time position at Arup as a Cost Consultant in New York City. 

The Student Engineers' Council at Virginia Tech awarded $15,000 to Dr. Keresh Afsari. Dr. Afsari and her ARCADE Lab students, Srijeet Halder and Ryan King, focused their proposal on improving ARCADE and students' robotics experience in the lab. This recognition is especially notable because the funds are philanthropic from the engineering students! In providing this award, the SEC recognizes the incredible work Dr.

N.C. 12 Rodanthe Bridge

In the second semester of the CEM Capstone series, student teams proposed their own development projects sponsored by Flatiron Construction. This involved preconstruction planning for a 2.4-mile-long bridge along N.C. 12 in Rodanthe, NC. proposed to the broader Rodanthe community.

21st Century Schools - Calverton Elementary/Middle School  |  Baltimore, MD

Join us for virtual capstone presentations - Our capstone projects simulate the competitive Design-Build (DB) process, where the Owner will select a DB partner based on evaluation of competitive bid proposals and final project interviews (Capstone Day presentations). In this simulation, student teams represent the construction side of the DB entity (i.e. the primary contractor) and MLSoC Industry Partners represent the Owner. Industry Partners will evaluate the performance of each team to select the first-, second-, and third-place teams

Faculty and students in the Myers-Lawson School of Construction (MLSoC) and Virginia Center for Housing Research (VCHR) are analyzing sustainable, quality, and low-cost approaches to help solve the affordability crisis in Virginia and across the nation.